Larches-Getting going & a couple of new purchases

Back in January I spent the vast sum of £9.44 on seven Larch hedging plants which came from Northern Ireland with some other bare rooted items and I am now beginning to get them organised as my bonsais of the future.

Larch  starters 2

Japanese Larch Starters Jan 2016 18 inches to 2ft

Larch sketches

I have in mind a group of three which uses up the two tiddlers they threw in with the original order of five. A two tree planting and a formal upright.See the sketches (right)

 As they were grown for hedging stock some have quite deep tap roots so those are still in flower pots with a view to reducing the roots over a period of time as they get established. The centre twin trunk will have jinned branch remains for a good way up of the trunk trying to emulate a couple of old and weathered moorland trees.
Actually to be a bit more correct this is a Two Trees, Soju, planting where there are two separate trees as opposed to a Twin Trunk ,Sokan bonsai where two trunks grow from one root base.
There are a number of photos of a Larch Soju as I would like this to become one day in Dan Barton’s Bonsai Book.

The remaining one I have wired extensively to create a windswept tree

Windswept larch march 16

Windswept Larch in training

And straight away having photographed it I can see a glaring error,that branch crossing and rising above the bulk of the tree looks completely wrong, so follow this story later in the year .. They are all budding up well now and I am told they are rapid growers so let’s hope so, I haven’t a vast number of years statistically left to see the fruits of my labours.

Other new additions
Coming from Yorkshire stock and artist’s pension plans not being any use I  seldom splash out on trees but we do have a major anniversary coming up shortly and as we were to visit my daughters new home near Marlborough, which  fortunately coincided with the Swindon Bonsai Society Winter Show,  my dear wife Susan said go on buy yourself a tree as a present. When I got there I was very pleased to find Jon a fellow member of the Taunton Club there, a qualified forester by profession happy to advise me on my choice.

As an anniversary present I chose a Japanese Maple a Kashima Acer which having been repottted in now bursting into leaf and I am told it will turn gold in the autumn , most appropriate for this particular anniversary. And whilst there I also spent a few of my own pennies on a young Satsuki Azalea which will need a few years and quite a bit of work. Altogether a good day out.

Satsuki 1

Young Satsuki Azalea

Acer March16 2

Japanese Maple -Acer ‘Kashima’

 

 

About Michael Cooper

After recording the rural scene in watercolours for over thirty years and having run my own studio gallery for most of that time I am now semi retired.I am still selling my prints though to customers worldwide via my website and through my display at the Somerset Crafts Gallery at the Avalon Marshes Centre,Westhay nr Glastonbury BA6 9TT the rest of the time is spent looking after my bonsai trees, I like the exercise
This entry was posted in Acers, Azalea, BLOG, Bonsai, Larches, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

