Juniper Phase 4

Juniper March

To think that I only acquired this Juniper in February and above  is what it looked like in March after the first  drastic cut and now it looks like this.
So it must be Phase 4 by now surely?

Juniper August 2017

Through the summer it had put on some really healthy growth which was a relief after the chopping regime had finished. Back in June it was possible to see the direction I was striving for but there were still a number of glaring errors in my technique and or the overall  character and composition of the tree.

Juniper June 2017Faultys

The foliage I thinned out quite a bit but I had in error made it into wide flat fans of one layer mainly through ignorance of what was needed.

Work in Progress 27julyAdrian, my bonsai mentor from our club , came over this week and we sorted some of these things out, the foliage fans were narrowed by closing half the fan shape over the other half making two layers. We also tightened in the  tertiary branches reducing their length a bit and making the foliage now more like pads than wide flat fansLayers not fan

 

 

We then set about those larger faults.The topmost area really worried me as whatever I tried did not look good. Adrian pointed out a direction that though not looking good now would probably with reasonable growth create a better crown in the future for the tree.

Juniper August RECTIFIED FAULTS

The dominant angle of the tree diagonally down from left to right in the ERROR picture and the visual error of having the trunk and the other very heavy branch both following the general direction in parallel was corrected by pulling down the left hand branch with a guy wire, resulting in a more pleasing inverted V shape .
Many thanks again to Adrian from the Taunton and Somerset Bonsai Club for all his help and guidance with this project.

Quick Larch update

These larches have been subject to a lot of wind this summer and have had to be guyed up to get them more firmly established. Still for £1.33 each in Jan 2016  I think they put on a good show . I know they are young and slender but at my age groups do give one some satisfaction in a shortish time. I wonder a bit about the trunk diameter height ratio with such tree because if you see forest Larches they are pretty slender in the wild.

IMG_20170823_151835

IMG_20170823_152642IMG_20170823_151156

`

 

 

 

 

 

Once again these notes are mainly for my own record but I will be pleased to know if others like to hear of my progress as a penny pinching pensioner bonsai enthusiast.  And don’t forget if you are starting out down the bonsai path the best way to reach ones goals is to join your local club.

About Michael Cooper

Bonsai enthusiast and artist. After recording the rural scene in watercolours for over thirty years and having my own studio gallery I am now semi retired. I still sell my prints though to customers worldwide via my website and through the Somerset Crafts Gallery, Avalon Marshes Centre,Westhay nr Glastonbury BA6 9TT. The rest of the time is spent looking after my bonsai trees, I like the exercise.
This entry was posted in BLOG, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Juniper Phase 4

  1. Pingback: Juniper Phase 4 | Michael Coopers Studio – Wolf's Birding and Bonsai Blog

Leave a Reply

