Juniper Project Phase 3 Continued

Before on 25th

Now at the end of July the Juniper has put on a healthy burst of growth and is ready for thinning out a bit and wiring even more carefully .

Just Started work

Fresh supply of wire to hand and starting work on the lower branches first.

Work in Progress

Work in progress 3

After wiring the whole tree right out to the tertiary branches I decided it was time to take off some of the very heavy 6mm wire (should have done that first,I know.) that was used originally to make a major change to the direction of the trunk and a secondary branch. (March 17th this year)Work in progress 4.jpgmasked

The very topmost part of the trunk needed quite a heavy wire still to be redone but the rest seemed to have done the job OK.

Work in progress 5.jpg masked

Sue is being very patient about this great black nursery pot on a stand outside the window and I am getting impatient about seeing it in a more bonsai like pot albeit a pretty big training pot.

Bonsai workers

Adrian from Taunton & Somerset Bonsai Club help to get me on the right track with this project.


The present pot is about 56 cm wide by 35 cm deep, so it is a bit of an eyesore. Kaizen have just introduced a round nursery pot in either 50 or 60 cm diameter and Got Bonsai do a black rectangular one of 58cm width  so I will have to think about it.

Might even get it into a proper bonsai pot before my 80th birthday with luck DV.

 

Harry Harrington of Bonsai4me says that there is a window in August when one can repot Junipers when it is warm and humid but having done such a lot of drastic work on it this year one should really leave it now till next spring so as not to put too much strain on the tree.

 

 

 

THE JUNIPER PROJECT  The whole story so far from it’s discovery at the back of an old nursery can be seen at   The Juniper Story 

 

 

As I have said before this blog is very much intended as my own record of my bonsai activities but should you find it interesting you can always let me know any thoughts or suggestions you may have. And if you are new to bonsai the best advice I can give is to join a Club where you can get some hands on assistance from the more experienced members, I know  it made an enormous difference to my knowledge, technique, confidence and to my trees. 

About Michael Cooper

Bonsai enthusiast and artist. After recording the rural scene in watercolours for over thirty years and having my own studio gallery I am now semi retired. I still sell my prints though to customers worldwide via my website and through the Somerset Crafts Gallery, Avalon Marshes Centre,Westhay nr Glastonbury BA6 9TT. The rest of the time is spent looking after my bonsai trees, I like the exercise.
This entry was posted in Juniper, My BLOG, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Juniper Project Phase 3 Continued

Leave a Reply

