Springtime at Last

_20170310_145729

Prunus Incisa ‘Paean’
Purchased as a spindly nursery tree about four foot high February last year,cut down to about 9 inches, in training pot until n ow.

One of the  magic moments of nature is the Spring as buds starts to emerge and signs of life return to our trees and it is time to set about re-potting most of them.When the roots go round and round in the pot and start pushing the tree up now is the time to take them out,comb out the roots aiming to arrange them radially out from the trunk and trim them 1487803455499back. With a tree that  has been in a deeper training pot the depth of the root area should try to be reduced as well in order  to fit it into a shallower bonsai pot .

This Hawthorn has lots of root growth to tease out and reduce.

Last year I also purchased some bare rooted Larches which as they were intended for woodland trees had thick tap roots.They were first planted into deep flower pots the roots being cut back later and planted in a deepish oval bonsai pot without great care as to their arrangement rather a care about their survival.

Now it is time to place them more carefully into a shallower pot with more thought as to the composition of the arrangement.LarchgrroupMarch 17

Lornicera feb2017Among other trees that have had the spring time re-potting routine are the following. A nice little Lonicera Pileata purchased in May 2014 from Kaizen  about 6″ high. A Hawthorn which I salvage from my daughter and her partner’s garden in Wiltshire, it was about four foot high and I also cut that down to about 9 inches and trained up a new   leader.Last summer it’s leaves were so Hawthorn 10march 17small it looked pretty good.

 

 

A Cotoneaster which has grown from a seedling found in 1993.Cottoneaster feb 2017

Berberis which was purchased at a garden centre and worked down to about a 7 inch tree.Berberis feb 2017

 

 

 

 

Among my other smaller trees there are also two Mulberrys which my Wife Sue gave me last year as an extra part of our Golden Wedding Anniversary present. I think she got them from All Things Bonsai near Sheffield.

 

The main present was my smashing Acer Kashima which will grace this blog site when it’s amazing foliage display starts,

The last tree I got round to in the last few days was this little Semi Cascade Juniper bought from a landscaping nursery in 1982 but neglected during those busy years of my working life.Juniper semi cascade March17

 

As to the fancy black background photography, well I was sitting in the garage working on a tree and held it up to eye level as the sun poured in the door beside me lighting the tree with the garage interior behind in almost total darkness. I have had to take out the step ladder and the waste bin that was visible in the gloom  but otherwise a handy bonsai photo spot.

Some of the larger trees to do next,watch this blog.

This blog is very much intended as my own record of my progress along the fascinating pathway that is Bonsai. Though I have had some trees since 1985 they were sorely neglected for many years whilst I had a business to run,employees, the landlord, bank manager and the VAT man to support. It is only in recent years that I have been able to give my bonsai the time that they deserve and through joining my local Bonsai Club the
Taunton and Somerset Bonsai Club
that I have had the encouragement to pursue this other form of art more seriously.

 

 

 

 

About Michael Cooper

After recording the rural scene in watercolours for over thirty years and having run my own studio gallery for most of that time I am now semi retired.I am still selling my prints though to customers worldwide via my website and through my display at the Somerset Crafts Gallery at the Avalon Marshes Centre,Westhay nr Glastonbury BA6 9TT the rest of the time is spent looking after my bonsai trees, I like the exercise
This entry was posted in Bonsai, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

