Craftsman potter makes me some pots

 

large-pot-2-fbOur local bonsai club tree of the month competitions usually finish up with our judge telling us to get better pots that do our trees justice.

To this end having had connections with the  West Country art community for over thirty years I thought  that I should be able to find someone to help me present a better entry  with my tree.
This week  I went to see the first products  of  local potter Anne Whittlesey labours having commissioned a selection of samples and I was really very impressed and would just like to hear the views of some other enthusiasts.large-pot-1fb

I  gave Anne some ideas and photos to see what one might expect but she really went to town with the three sample pots which has made them a bit labour intensive. I wonder are people prepared to pay a price that will make it worth her while?
The designs were so good I felt churlish even thinking of pricing them but a good craftsmen is worth their hire and I would  love to be able to create a market however small for her work.

The sizes of the samples was

Large                         25cm x 19 oval    x 6cm high
Medium                    22cm x 17  oval   x 6cm high
Small                         20cm  x 17  oval   x 5cm High

This is not a profit making concern of mine rather a project to encourage a craft worker to explore a niche market and get a reasonable reward for their skilled time.I know myself that it is hard making a living in the art and craft world and few craftsmen are business minded. In view of the labour intensiveness of the design I might suggest some  plain sided pots at a lower price range.

If anyone has any thoughts  on these  do get in touch I would be grateful for your advice.

detail

You can see from this how good they are and the work that has gone into them.

 

>

About Michael Cooper

After recording the rural scene in watercolours for over thirty years and having run my own studio gallery for most of that time I am now semi retired.I am still selling my prints though to customers worldwide via my website and through my display at the Somerset Crafts Gallery at the Avalon Marshes Centre,Westhay nr Glastonbury BA6 9TT the rest of the time is spent looking after my bonsai trees, I like the exercise
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

