My Anniversary Acer – a Progression

acer 30april 16 Blog

Having put up with me for fifty years this year my dear Wife Sue decided to mark the event by giving me a bonsai tree. Off I went then to the Swindon  Bonsai Society Show on 28th Feb, very handy that as we were visiting my daughter’s new home near Marlborough that very week end, instructed to choose something myself that I would be pleased with.

Just as well I had suggested that week end for the visit.

Acer  SwindonAnd I was very  pleased to find another member of our Club there, Jon who is a professional forester, to hold my hand whilst I spent Sue’s money. There on Lee Verhorevoort’s display
I found just what I was looking for a really nice little Acer,  Kashima a dwarf , dense foliage variety but then in bare winter form of course.
When I got  back to our daughter Jo’s new house later  that afternoon with my precious purchase I think they may well have wondered what I was so thrilled about when they thought it was a bare twigish sort of thing..

Lee advised me to repot  before it came into leaf and protect it as well for it had been  in a tunnel, so it had nightly journeys into to the garage for some while during the colder weeks. All was well though as it burst into leaf of   the most amazing colours for this photo 25th March, Sue was really quite impressed with it by now.

 acer2 BLOG

 

Proudly displayed  on a low wall outside our kitchen window it then turned a golden green to be lovingly gazed at whilst washing up- this photo May 6thAcer in Garden BLOG

It was soon looking like a very solid crash helmet of foliage and when seen at one of our  Taunton and Somerset Bonsai Club workshops, club styling guru Adrian asked if we could leave it then but if he might use it in a talk on defoliation and refinement the following month. Then realising how much of the evening my be spent cutting the leaves off he  asked if I could do that bit, before the programme started so to speak, to save time.

That done – Here starteth the lesson

Now whatBLOG

Now what are we doing?

My EWife gave me that BLOG

Ade …MY WIFE GAVE ME THAT!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oh I See BLOG

Oh that’s ok, I see what you are doing now

The demonstration  ended with Adrian telling me to finish it off myself the next day if I was going to learn anything.                                                                             Thank you Adrian.

     My thanks also to Bill Parr for the use of some of the excellent club night photos he took.

all done.jpg

Almost there now for like an Ikebana artist I have course left a few little tweaks still to be done by a real master.

Both Sue and I were very pleased as well to hear Adrian say what a cracking good little tree it was.

Thanks Sue

About Michael Cooper

After recording the rural scene in watercolours for over thirty years and having run my own studio gallery for most of that time I am now semi retired.I am still selling my prints though to customers worldwide via my website and through my display at the Somerset Crafts Gallery at the Avalon Marshes Centre,Westhay nr Glastonbury BA6 9TT the rest of the time is spent looking after my bonsai trees, I like the exercise
This entry was posted in Acers, BLOG, Bonsai, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Anniversary Acer – a Progression

  1. Beautiful maple,what a lovely present to get 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

