Bare rooted bonsai starters

Larch  starters 2

Japanese Larch starters Jan 2016 height 30plus inches

Bafre roots1

My bare rooted delivery,Yews,Blackthorn & Larches

Another blog mainly for my own tree progress record but someone else  might find it interesting 

Always having to count the pennies involved in this hobby and not having the physical ability to go clambering over the moors and mountains I have been looking for another way to obtain some starters to work on in the future.
Many bonsai nurseries charge quite a few pounds for very modest little starters between £4 and £7 or £8 for some of the stock I am thinking of.These of course are container plants and looking at some of their website many of them are pretty weedy specimens.

Yew starters

English Yews Starters Jan 2016

EXCEPTION At this point I must say that the Fuji Cherry Starter I bought last month from Kaizen was a different price class altogether about £27 but it was jolly healthy looking and very promising it may even split into two trees later,lived up well to their description no complaints there.

Blackthorn starters

Blackthorn  Jan 2016 height 30 plus inches

 

 

So the answer to saving  a few bob was to buy bare rooted trees which the tree nurseries, as opposed to bonsai dealers, sell during the dormant winter months. Well they came today, well packed and with some good roots and I soon had them potted up and am now looking  forward to seeing how my 80p Blackthorn, seven Larches for £9.44 and two English Yews at £2.77 each (plus £6,75 p &p) turn out in times to come, it will certainly give me something to work on.

 

 

Larch starters 1

Japanese Larch starters Jan 2016 height 30plus inches

 

 

 

 

 

About Michael Cooper

After recording the rural scene in watercolours for over thirty years and having run my own studio gallery for most of that time I am now semi retired.I am still selling my prints though to customers worldwide via my website and through my display at the Somerset Crafts Gallery at the Avalon Marshes Centre,Westhay nr Glastonbury BA6 9TT the rest of the time is spent looking after my bonsai trees, I like the exercise
This entry was posted in Bonsai, My BLOG, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bare rooted bonsai starters

  1. I’ll be doing the same from a good nursery in Belfast. Just out of curiosity, which site did you order from? Parker’s is a good online shop.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I also got it from Ireland Beechwood Nurseries, Ballywalter
      Down Northern Ireland
      http://www.3fatpigs.net

      They also sell via Amazon but in larger quantities of each tree, whereas on their website you can order 1 if you want. The Larches I ordered five but they sent two extra smaller ones which in fact where ideal to make a better mix of sizes for a group.Read your fuji cherry posting with interest as I will be going down tha route soon with the one I got last month.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

