Fuji Cherry

Cherry BlossomCropped

I first saw a Fuji Cherry Incisa, Kojo-no-mai, bonsai at Taunton &Somerset Bonsai where it had been entered for the tree of the month  in full bloom and thought I really must get one of those.
Kojo-no-mai evidently means ‘Flight of the butterflies’

IMG_2668

Brian’s Tree at the Club

Fortunately when number two son Ben asked me what I wanted for Christmas a gift token from Kaizen Bonsai sprang rapidly to mind and yesterday my purchase with it  arrived. Now if anyone has doubts re trees by post they packed it really well and it was a flourishing bushy plant in a nine inch pot, if any thing it was better than the description on their Fuji Cherry Packedwebsite.

 

As it will come into bloom in early spring other than cutting off a few obviously unnecessary twigs I am going to leave it till after blooming to do any major work on it.As it happens I have put my name down for a day long workshop with the club then and now thanks to Ben I will have something promising to take along Fuji Cherry Jan 2016and get the benefit of some  advice of the more experienced enthusiasts . 

Photo of blossom and Brian’s trees by Bill P at the Bonsai Club

Mount Fuji, an active volcano always capped with snow is one of the three sacred mountains of Japan

Fuji

This posting is more for my own record of my trees and their progress so I hope it is not to boring for visitors to this site.

mo

Acquired another Fuji today  Feb 18th  at a vastly  cheaper price which was hidden at the back of a collection of shrubs in a large nursery and which had an almost etiolated growth of about three foot or more which I have promptly cut down drastically, fingers crossed now.IMAG0466-1

About Michael Cooper

Bonsai enthusiast and artist. After recording the rural scene in watercolours for over thirty years and having my own studio gallery I am now semi retired. I still sell my prints though to customers worldwide via my website and through the Somerset Crafts Gallery, Avalon Marshes Centre,Westhay nr Glastonbury BA6 9TT. The rest of the time is spent looking after my bonsai trees, I like the exercise.
This entry was posted in Bonsai, Fuji Cherry, My BLOG, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fuji Cherry

  1. I’m looking forward to mine blooming perhaps in a number of weeks. It’s a tree highlight of the year.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Fuji Cherry | Michael Coopers Studio | Wolf's Birding and Bonsai Blog

Leave a Reply

