Really pleased

Had a really pleasing day yesterday, started off with a lovely little Goldcrest coming and2821.Goldcrest_1920x1200.jpg-550x0 perching on a patio holly just outside our window. That was in addition to our usual feeding frenzy of Goldfinches, Coal,Great and Blue Tits with the occasional Woodpecker and resident Collared Doves.Then I  had an otter run across the road in front of the car near Burrowbridge on the Somerset Levels as I drove to Bonsai Club at Taunton in the dark.                             PhotoRSPB
There I won, yes I was lucky enough to win the novices first prize for the best results of the year based on our monthly tree of the  club competition.

prizewinnerIt seems that  I have now been certified and will be moved into the Advanced Class next year, so I doubt if I will win any prizes there against the Club’s big boys.

 

 

Here is a selection of the trees that helped me win over the months

cock crowing 2I’m very sorry if this seems a great ego trip but this is mainly for my own record of my bonsai

progress and after all these years of bonsai neglect  my trees have really benefited from me joining a club and getting some proper hands on advice, books are all very well but I don’t think you can beat the personal help from an experienced grower. You can see that in the improvement of the White pine from June (above) and the Black Pine .March (above)  and then at the end of the summer (below) 

About Michael Cooper

After recording the rural scene in watercolours for over thirty years and having run my own studio gallery for most of that time I am now semi retired.I am still selling my prints though to customers worldwide via my website and through my display at the Somerset Crafts Gallery at the Avalon Marshes Centre,Westhay nr Glastonbury BA6 9TT the rest of the time is spent looking after my bonsai trees, I like the exercise
This entry was posted in BLOG, Bonsai and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

