Juniper progress

This tree was first bought as garden centre stock in 1987. Then I neglected it as I did most of my trees whilst running my gallery and trying to make a living, only in recent times has it really had some attention. This as I have said before is my Zen method of looking at  tree for 25 years before actually touching it.  Obviously a school of thought that does not seem to work very well as my  attempts to style it were not very successful

Juniper March 2014

Juniper March 2014

Juniper July14BLOG

Juniper July 2014

 This year with the added confidence of joining a bonsai club, learning from some old hands  there and being able to spend a lot more time with my trees I really got down to trying to do something better with this tree.
I  lowered that right hand branch down, removed the first little twig of foliage, jinned the stump that was left of that and straightened out that inward curve of the trunk, that I had thought was so good before, in order to reveal the descending clouds of foliage better

Juniper End Sept 2014

Juniper End Sept 2014

But then twisting and turning it around it struck me that my original choice for the front of the tree in this new pot was not quite right, it needed turning a little to the left showing the shape of the trunk to more advantage.

Left Plan as it was seen from above Right Plan new shape.

Left Plan as it was seen from above Right Plan new shape.

So now it is just a matter of re-potting it in this position and hoping that I am on the right track for a nice looking tree after all these years

Juniper End Sept 2015 Background retouched for clarity

Juniper End Sept 2015 Background retouched for clarity.Still needs re-potting to square pot up

Of course  that little jinned stump now points straight at the viewer, very wrong style wise, so as it was only recently done I shall hope that it will respond to a little wiring to move it to the  right a bit.

(Jin- wood with bark removed to give a dead wood appearance as one sees on old trees in the wild. )

Juniper Oct 2015

Juniper Oct 2015

About Michael Cooper

After recording the rural scene in watercolours for over thirty years and having run my own studio gallery for most of that time I am now semi retired.I am still selling my prints though to customers worldwide via my website and through my display at the Somerset Crafts Gallery at the Avalon Marshes Centre,Westhay nr Glastonbury BA6 9TT the rest of the time is spent looking after my bonsai trees, I like the exercise
This entry was posted in BLOG, Bonsai and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Juniper progress

Leave a Reply

