My Bonsai

This is a link to My Bonsai Page on this site which covers my interest in these trees from

Japanese Black Pine

Japanese Black Pine

my first seeing one in a book as a child, up to the present together with some modest thoughts on tree welfare and the progress of some of my trees over the years.
I hasten to add that though I started growing them back in the 1980s, due to work pressures etc they were somewhat neglected and it is only in recent years that I have taken it more seriously and tried to get them in better order.
So though the years be long I would still only regard myself as a stage or so up from a novice. I just wish I had taken it more seriously a lot earlier, then I would have had a pretty good collection by now and the lack of years ahead would not have been such a deterrent to embark on very long term tree projects.

My excuse for writing this article  is that I find that so much about bonsai on the web is about amazing trees that not only cost a fortune but also need a lifetime to look after and such bonsai beauties are beyond the pocket or time commitments of the beginner almost to the degree of making one throw up ones hand and give up. Please don’t do that, a modest but very satisfying collection need not cost too much or involve to much of ones life, have a go. And possibly the best advice is join a club where you can get hands on help from more experienced little tree enthusiasts.

About Michael Cooper

Bonsai enthusiast and artist. After recording the rural scene in watercolours for over thirty years and having my own studio gallery I am now semi retired. I still sell my prints though to customers worldwide via my website and through the Somerset Crafts Gallery, Avalon Marshes Centre,Westhay nr Glastonbury BA6 9TT. The rest of the time is spent looking after my bonsai trees, I like the exercise.
This entry was posted in Bonsai and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Bonsai

  1. Reblogged this on Wolf's Birding and Bonsai Blog and commented:
    Good advice bud.

    Like

Leave a Reply

