I only Painted it

Old Memories
My two  sons came round on Mothers Day yesterday, both grown men now following their own careers and in Julian’s case the proud father of our grandson Edward.

It only seems a like yesterday  when they were both young children themselves and we were living in Glastonbury and I had my studio in Crispin Hall.
One night long after they had gone to bed the phone rang and a rather slurred voice at the other end asked  ‘Do you know there’s a petrol can in the grass?
‘Who is this, do you know what time it is?’  I demanded, only to be told that it was a certain Mr X.. a rather eccentric elderly customer of mine who had bought a number of paintings in the previous  few months and who kept repeating his question about some petrol can or other.
‘Sorry ‘ he went on when he eventually got things a bit clearer.  ‘Didn’t know it was that late, didn’t know it was late,sorry. My wife’s gone out with a friend and the wife’s friend’s husband (hic)and I have been having a few little drinks.'(hic).
From the sound of it, it was more than a few and probably not little ones either.

That picture’ he said ‘The one  I brought from you the other day, the farming one  with the  chickens and that, I’ve just noticed that there’s a petrol can in the grass, did you know it was there?’

 I think his picture was painted long before these above and it’s just as well it wasn’t a milk churn he was asking about, I wouldn’t know which picture it was then.

 

The Field Marshall one is still available as an open edition print At Studio Website

 

 

About Michael Cooper

Bonsai enthusiast and artist. After recording the rural scene in watercolours for over thirty years and having my own studio gallery I am now semi retired. I still sell my prints though to customers worldwide via my website and through the Somerset Crafts Gallery, Avalon Marshes Centre,Westhay nr Glastonbury BA6 9TT. The rest of the time is spent looking after my bonsai trees, I like the exercise.
This entry was posted in Anecdotes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

